This charming building has a very interesting history and has had many uses over its 150 years.
Electrical Repair Workshop
In the Beginning
The Lady Bowen Hotel was named after Contessa
Diamantina Bowen who was the wife of Governor George Ferguson Bowen who was the
governor of the colony at the time. It was one of the first hotels in the Thames
area and stood on what was then the main road of Grahamstown (as that side of
Thames was then known).
The building was originally much smaller
than what it is now and in 1882 the proprietor, Mr W Mahoney dismantled the hotel and used the materials when rebuilding and expanding the hotel into the two storied building we see today.
After the renovations the following was reported in the Thames Star on
30 September 1882:
"Unquestionably the Lady Bowen is one the
most complete and furnished hotels on the Thames, and in some matters, notably,
the size and fitting up of the bedrooms surpasses, perhaps, anything in
Today the building is the Lady Bowen Bed
and Breakfast and has a Historic Places Category 2 listing. Guests can stay a night or two (or longer) in
this charming old building which has been lovingly renovated into very
comfortable accommodation. The layout of
the building is much as it was in 1882, with bedrooms and guest bathroom
upstairs and the bar (now guest lounge) and dining room downstairs. Of course it is a lot more comfortable these
days but still retains the integrity of the original building. We look forward to sharing this lovely
historic building with you.