The Lady Bowen History
This charming building has a very interesting history and has had many uses over its 150 years.
The Lady Bowen Bed and Breakfast was the original Lady Bowen Hotel from 1868 until 1950, when it's name and liquor license was transferred to another building ( then called the Park Hotel) located just across the road.
The original building was a single storied hotel until 1882, when the proprietor, a Mr William Mahoney dismantled the hotel and added the second storey and upstairs verandah to the building.
Below is a photo which shows the Lady Bowen Hotel as the original single storey structure.
Of course, while the building has been renovated and modernized over the years the actual layout is very similar to the original two storied building. Come and see for yourself!